Site News #1!

Hello!
As you can probably tell, this blog is fairly new. I’ve loved names for many years, but only recently started writing about them. I was surprised when I started the blog by how many people seem interested in reading about names- I thought I was alone in my wacky enthusiasm for onomastics!

In order to make keeping up with the blog a little easier, I’ve decided to set up a schedule for posts. You can expect a new post every Tuesday and Friday, though there may be an odd post here or there if I feel the need or a reader writes in with an urgent question. I’d love to be able to post every day, but between work and my personal life, I just don’t have the time to write that much.There’ll be a new post up this Friday. Thanks again to all who’ve been reading- I love sharing my love of names!

3 thoughts on “Site News #1!

  1. Very much enjoying this blog and your perspective. I am an anthropologist and name obsessed as well. In a way, it makes sense that the two interests should go hand in hand but still fun to stumble upon others who share them both!

    Like

      1. No published works, unfortunately. I’m new to the scene and have only been involved more on the applied anthro end. But just spent two years on a project meant to update this study http://www.north-slope.org/assets/images/uploads/Braund%202010%20Beaufort%20maps%20MMS_MP_Final_Report_Apr2010.pdf though it hasn’t been published yet.

        Definitely came across lots of interesting names while in ‘the field.’ There are very few peer reviewed sources on Alaska Native naming practices, but here is a website that does a pretty good job of summing up some of the naming customs: https://alaskaweb.org/native/names.htm. Many of the people I know from up north have two names: one English and one Inupiaq. Though their English names tend to be the ones found on their birth certificates, both names can and often are used somewhat interchangeably/equally as often. Also, due to a strong tradition of passing names down,
        the English names in popular circulation–even amongst the youngest generation–tend to be heavily influenced by what was popular in the mid-to-late 1800’s. I’ve met a number of under-30s with names like Bertha, Dorcas, Vera, Fanny, Archie, Donald, Felton, etc.

        Like

Leave a Reply

